Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Google search engine
HomeNEWSJuaben Municipal Assembly fails to elect Presiding Member (PM)

Juaben Municipal Assembly fails to elect Presiding Member (PM)

The Assembly Members of Juaben Municipal in the Ashanti Region have failed to elect their Presiding Member (PM).

So far, first round of elections have been conducted by the Electoral Commission (EC) but none of the two contestants were able to attained two thirds of the total votes cast.

The two main contenders for the Presiding Member position, Mr Kwadwo Sarpong Assembly Member for Damang Electoral Area (government appointee) and Mr Joseph Asare, the incumbent failed to get the nod.

At end of the first polls, Mr Joseph Asare obtained 17 votes whiles Mr Kwadwo Sarpong had 7 votes.

The same figures were obtained during the second round which compelled the Electoral Commission Officer for Juaben Municipal, Mr Emmanuel Akwasi Amponsah to postponed election to the next ten days for a fresh elections again.

Earlier before the elections, the EC Officer told the Assembly Members that the total eligible persons who can vote were 24 members.

According him, one can only become a Presiding Member (PM) unless he attains 18 votes out of the total 24 members respresenting the two thirds of the votes cast.

At the election supervised by the EC were the Municipal Coordinating Director, Apostle Peter Antwi Bosiako and heads of departments, units, security services and agencies.

By: Daniel Akwasi Nuako, Juaben

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular